Qualified Teams Top-30-Qualifying

The first motor-racing decisions for the 24h Race are brought about long before the weekend of the legendary race. The coveted starting positions for the Top-30 Qualifying have been assigned from the first round of the Endurance Championship Nürburgring, VLN. This means that there are – including VLN round two and the 24h Race qualifying race – three races held in the run-up to the 24h race that offer the competitors the chance of securing one of the soughtafter positions. According to the 24h-Race regulations, the four fastest teams in the VLN qualifying sessions as well as the 10 quickest in the practice session as well as the five best teams in the qualifying race secure a slot on the top-30 grid. But traditionally, not all the theoretically possible Top-30 Qualifying positions are taken. This year, 15 vehicles already secured a position for the battle for the 24h-Race pole position in the time-trial format.

Qualified teams Top-30 Qualifying prior to the 24h Race:

Qualified in the VLN 1 qualifying session
1#911Manthey RacingLaurens VanthoorPorsche 911 GT3 RSP9
2#22WochenspiegelJochen KrumbachFerrari 488 GT3SP9
3#102WalkenhorstChristian KrognesBMW M6 GT3SP9
4#47Mercedes AMG HTPDominik BaumannMercedes-AMG GT3SP9
Qualified in the VLN 2 qualifying session
5#912Manthey RacingPatrick PiletPorsche 911 GT3 RSP9
6#4Mercedes AMG HTPDirk MüllerMercedes-AMG GT3SP9
7#48Mercedes AMG HTPMaximilian GötzMercedes-AMG GT3SP9
8Not assigned
Qualified in the 24h Race qualifying session
9#31Frikadelli RacingNorbert SiedlerPorsche 911 GT3 RSP9
10#7Aston Martin RacingNicky ThiimAston Martin GT3SP9
11#5Mercedes AMG Black FalconYelmer BuurmanMercedes-AMG GT3SP9
12#99Rowe RacingMartin TomczykBMW M6 GT3SP9
13#705Scuderia GlickenhausAndreas SimonsenSCG 003CSP-X
14#44Falken MotorsportsSven MüllerPorsche 911 GT3 RSP9
15#8Audi Sport WRTRobin FrijnsAudi R8 LMSSP9
16#98Rowe RacingNicky CatsburgBMW M6 GT3SP9
17Not assigned
18Not assigned
Qualified in the 24h Race qualifying race
19Not assigned
20Not assigned
21Not assigned
22Not assigned
23Not assigned

Top-30 Qualifying: The regulations.
The time trials for the 24h Race pole are one of the highlights of the weekend. On Friday evening (11th May) from 19:00hrs (CEST), Race Director Walter Hornung sends the 30 fastest Nordschleife teams of the season out for two flying laps that are not only crucial for the positions at the front end of the 24h-Race grid but also in the fight for the Glickenhaus Trophy: the coveted challenge cup for the fastest Nordschleife driver of the season will be awarded to the best driver in the Top-30 Qualifying. Prior to the 24h-Race weekend, up to 23 positions for the time trials are assigned according to the following format:

  • Four positions each for the four fastest teams in the qualifying sessions for the VLN rounds one and two.
  • 10 positions for the fastest teams in the Top-30 qualifying of the 24h-Race qualifying race.
  • 5 positions for the five best-placed teams in the 24h qualifying race.
  • The teams must have registered for the assigning procedure prior to the respective event. Nobody will be moved up. This means that – for instance – the fifth placed teams in the VLN qualifying sessions will go away empty-handed.
  • All the Top-30 qualifying positions not secured prior to the 24h-Race weekend will be assigned according to the aggregated results of the first and second qualifying sessions.