On the eve of the 24h-Race: The 2018 Nürburgring Awards ceremony

Following the highly appreciated debut in 2016 and the successful continuation last year, the Nürburgring Awards once again will be awarded for special motor-racing performances. On the eve of the 2018 ADAC Zurich 24h Race, on 11th May, 2018, the organisers will pay tribute to the Award winners in the three proven categories ‘Ambassador of the Year’, ‘Brand of the Year’ and ‘Lifetime Achievement’. In front of about 300 guests from the media, sports and business worlds, presenter Laura Wontorra will host the Nürburgring Award night in the ring°werk’s cinema auditorium. The top-class Nürburgring Awards jury itself, consisting of motor-racing expert and former Mercedes Formula One Boss Norbert Haug, DTM ace Timo Glock and Formula One reporter Kai Ebel, stands for legendary motor-sport moments like nearly no other committee. With their extensive knowledge of the international motor-racing world they are ideal for choosing the Award winners. Mark Webber, Ex-Formula One driver and Nordschleife fan, also is keen on attending the event to present one of the coveted Awards.
Special highlight: the Lifetime Achievement Award
The Lifetime Achievement Award will make for a special moment during the one-hour Award ceremony. Following in the footsteps of Michael Schumacher (2016) and Hans Werner Aufrecht (2017), Hans-Joachim Stuck will be presented with this year’s edition of the Lifetime Achievement Award. At the age of just 19 years he won the maiden Nürburgring 24h Race for BMW – and added another two overall wins in the event in 1998 and 2004. With his sense of humour and his laid-back approach he thrilled the motor-racing enthusiasts all over the world. With this award, the motor-racing world bows to Hans-Joachim Stuck and all the terrific moments he gave us during his long career.
Further AWARD winners: to be announced during the course of the Award night
The other 2018 Nürburgring Award winners and their laudators will be announced during the event. The Nürburgring Award was jointly initiated in 2016 by the Nürburgring owners – the Nürburgring 1927 GmbH & Co. KG – the ADAC Nordrhein e. V. As 24h-Race organisers, the media partners RTL and Auto Bild Motorsport as well as the Sporttotal AG as promoters and producers of the greatest car race in the world.
Live coverage via live streams
The award ceremony will BE streamed live on 11th May, 2018, from 21.30hrs by Germany’s biggest motor-sport platform, Motorsport-Total.com, by Auto Bild motorsport (Autobild.de/motorsport) and at the official Nürburgring website (Nürburgring.de).